Hot Diggity Dog!

IMG_0892

J’s Ultimate Dynamite Dog. The photo doesn’t do it justice!

Since I call myself the hungry thrifter I figure it’s about time I post about food. A few years ago I worked at a sushi restaurant called Foxnut, where i honed my chopstick skills and discovered a love for shichimi togarashi, aka Japanese 7 spice. Not to be confused with Chinese 5 spice, this blend usually consists of ground red chili pepper, ground sansho pepper, orange peel, black sesame seeds, white sesame seeds, hemp seeds, ground ginger, and nori. And it is delicious! Sprinkle it on rice, edamame, or popcorn, or make my spicy mayo (recipe below). It can be a little hard to find in the mountains of Colorado so  I order it online, from Amazon or Etsy. Most recently I ordered 1 oz. from Craig’s Market on Etsy for about $7 with shipping, and it will last me forever. A little goes a long way!

IMG_0930

Despite the spelling mistake and vague ingredient list, Craig’s Market 7 spice smells great! Store in glass jar to keep it fresh longer.

The Foxnut also introduced me to the awesomeness that is a kobe beef hotdog. These dogs had toppings like jalapenos, cilantro, soy and yuzu reductions, and spicy mayo. The dynamite dog was my absolute favorite, and I have learned to recreate it in my own kitchen. I also like to use this spicy mayo on turkey burgers or dip fries in it. YUM YUM!

J’s Ultimate Dynamite Dog

*All quantities are estimated, since I eyeball things and don’t make it the same way every time : )

Spicy Mayo

1/4 cup Mayo

1+ Tbsp. chili garlic paste

a few drops sriracha

1/2-1 tsp scichimi togarashi

squeeze of lime

Stir everything together. Let sit for 30 minutes or longer to let flavors meld. I like it pretty spicy, but you can add more or less srirachi and chili garlic paste according to your tastes.

Asian Slaw

5 cups chopped Napa cabbage

3 Tbsp rice wine vinegar

3 Tbsp white sugar

2 tsp ginger

2 jalapeños, sliced thinly into rings

1/2 cup green onions, diced

salt and pepper

Heat vinegar and sugar over medium low heat until sugar melts. Remove from heat and stir in ginger and jalapeños. Pour warm dressing over cabbage and green onions and toss to coat. Add salt and pepper to taste. Best served the same day it is prepared to keep its crispness.

The DOG

I prefer Boar’s Head natural casing wieners, but use whatever you prefer. I steam them in about 1/4 cup water on the stovetop for about 5 minutes, then pour off excess water and continue cooking over medium heat for another 5 minutes or so. They would also be excellent grilled. Toast some hot dog buns then add some slaw, the dog, and some spicy mayo. Serve with fries, rice, or chips.

Enjoy, and let me know what you think!

J

Leave a Reply

