Yippy Ipsy!

ImageOk, ok, I know. Subscription box reviews have been done before. But since I am new to the world of subscription boxes I feel the need to share my new obsession. For those of you that are not aware of the subscription box phenomenon…. they are amazing! For a nominal fee (in most cases anyway) these companies will send you random makeup, hair, nail, and lifestyle samples. Some also send food, craft, or samples for the kiddos. So far I’ve subscribed to Ipsy and Birchbox*, for $10 a month each. I also ordered 2 deluxe sample boxes from Beauty Sage this month, which have contained my favorite products so far. But I digress. We’ll leave that for another day. Back to my monthly boxes. Today I’ll highlight my first Ipsy bag for April. Stay tuned for Birchbox and Beauty Sage!

I think Ipsy was the winner overall this month, which was a little surprising to me. The theme was “pretty in pink” which, ugh, is so not me. However once I received it I was pretty excited to try all the products.

First, there was the Be a Bombshell blush in sweet cheeks. This was a coveted FULL SIZE sample (it retails for around $14), yay! I have never used blush, but this highly pigmented rosy pink blush made me want to wear it everyday. I’m still trying to apply it without looking clownish, but I love the chance to try a new product for cheap!

Next was the Mica Beauty Cosmetics mineral eye shadow in Earth, a shimmery pink. I don’t normally wear eyeshadow, but I like having this on hand for special occasions. It ls pretty shimmery but not glittery, so I will definitely save this for the right occasion. And the rose gold color is amazing!

I’ve always wanted to try the Big Sexy Hair line of products and I finally got one in this bag. I got the Powder Play volumizer and it is fantastic! I have fine hair that tends to fall flat, but this powder gave me noticeable lift without the chalky feel of dry shampoos or other texturizers I’ve tried. I give it two thumbs up! 

Saving the best for last! My favorite of this bag was the Sation nail polish in Love At First Byte. This light peachy-pink color is not something I normally would gravitate towards, but it looks great with my skin type. It goes on really smooth and sheer, and after 3 coats I got the best peach color! It has also held up amazingly well, after 4 days my nails still look amazing. This was also a full size sample, it retails for about $5. It looks great by itself but I plan to use it with some other bright colors since I am obsessed with nail art!

All these wonderful samples came contained in a white makeup bag with pink zipper and white/pink ipsy print on the inside. Cute, but nothing special. Each month they send their samples in a makeup bag, which is why they started as My Glam Bag. Blurg, I am so glad they went with the name Ipsy instead. My Glam Bag makes me think of something advertised in Seventeen Magazine. And I am far from 17! But with either name I am excited to see what might be in next month’s bag, and can’t wait to see that bright pink mailer in my po box!

*There’s currently a waiting list for Birchbox and Ipsy. Feel free to use my referral to speed things up with Birchbox. And Ipsy just opened up some spots but they go quick, so get on it!

**Birchbox also has a men’s box and limited edition home boxes!

Thanks for reading,

J

6 thoughts on “Yippy Ipsy!

  1. Ipsy has really changed and developed ever since last year. I’m actually really glad to see full sized samples now. Before it was really lame with small samples you could get from magazines. Will you be doing more of these subscription boxes? I would love to see more C:

    • Hi TinyCubed! Thanks for visiting my blog! I am new to this whole blogging thing and I can’t express how much my followers mean to me, I am so appreciative! As I am now totally addicted to subscription boxes I will definitely post more about my sample experiences. Check back for posts on my most recent Birchbox and Beauty Sage boxes!

    • Hi Kristin! Since this is my first month with Ipsy I don’t have much to compare it to, but I hope it continues like this! I received my 2nd Birchbox this month, and so far I haven’t been super impressed, but I haven’t been super disappointed either. Whether I like everything in these subscriptions or not they are still nice treats to myself every month. Have you checked out the boxes on beautysage.com? They are listed under wellness. Its not a subscription but they have 4 boxes for $10 each including shipping. The samples are great, decent sizes and high quality. I’ve ordered all 4! Thanks for visiting my blog, I appreciate your feedback!- J

Leave a Reply

