When life gives you lululemons….

Image

Lululemon Ice Queen top, retails for $88. I got this limited edition blue stripe top for $5.

So I have a problem. Other than the fact I need to visit the thrift store every week I feel the need to purchase just about every piece of lululemon clothing I come across. The company has been in a bit of hot water lately over their see-through yoga pants (check out this article from the Boston Globe) but that doesn’t deter me. I find a certain satisfaction in paying less than $10 for athletic wear that retails for $50-$180. Even if it’s not my size. I have thrifted lululemon clothes in sizes 4-10 that I can’t seem to part with. The top pictured above is actually a size 4, which I am definitely not. However it fit ok, a little tight but it provides motivation to lose a few more lbs. And it has elbow patches, which I have been looking for all winter! It will be a great layering piece, and If I don’t wear it I am sure I can sell it and make some $$.

I also found a dress by Evan-Picone today. According to the Vintage Fashion Guild Evan-Picone started in 1949 and provided the wardrobe for the Mary Tyler Moore show! I’m not sure what era this dress is from, but it is a great sheath dress in a colorful Ikat-like print that hits at the knee, and unlike the lululemon top it fits perfectly. And it’s a size 8! I can’t wait to wear it somewhere special, although I might try to dress it down for work. We’ll see. I found some great pointy black ballet flats to go with it too (new with tags!) and they are so comfortable!

I also found a pair of sage green “paper bag” shorts and a chambray button up with stud detailing. I actually saw this shirt last week and tried it on, it was a little tight over the bust so I passed it up. Then I kicked myself all week for not buying it, since I can always wear it unbuttoned. All women’s clothing was 1/2 off today so I couldn’t pass it up for $4! And it has the name Wanda written in sharpie on the inside of the collar. Is there a rock and roll cowgirl named Wanda somewhere? Did she bedazzle this shirt herself? I like thinking about this shirt’s history with Wanda!

Image

Clockwise from top: Wanda’s shirt ($5), black flats ($6), paper bag shorts ($3) and Ikat sheath dress ($10)

So once again I thrifted some great things! Oh, and I had a spa consultation before my thrifting adventure, how could I forget! I have a gift certificate for a facial and wanted to talk with the professionals about what I might need for my aging skin. The facial lady (spa-tician?) told me I have great skin, although lately I haven’t thought the same. But I have an appointment in a few weeks for my first facial and I couldn’t be more excited! Jennifer also used some weird light thing to zap my blemishes (for free!), she was great and I know I will leave her looking my best in a few weeks!

My two days off have left me feeling refreshed and ready to face the long boring week ahead. And as always I will be looking stylish in my new thrifted threads!

Happy Hunting,

J

Leave a Reply

